

# SENATE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (SGC) Minutes of Meeting

Date: Tuesday, September 19, 2017 Time: 2:36pm –3:00pm Room: 209/211 Assumption Hall

**PRESENT:** Mr. Abrahim Abduelmula, Mr. Pascal Calarco, Dr. Ed King, Dr. Mitch Fields, Prof. Brenda Francis-Pelkey, Dr. Michael Khan, Dr. Douglas Kneale, Dr. Joanna Luft, Dr. Charles Macdonald, Dr. Darren Stanley, Prof. Myra Tawfik, Dr. Alan Wildeman.

ABSENT: Dr. Majid Ahmadi, Ms. Zeina Merheb, Dr. Linda Patrick.

IN ATTENDANCE: Ms. Maria Giampuzzi, Ms. Renée Wintermute (University Secretariat).

1 Approval of the agenda

MOTION: That the agenda be approved.

Dr. M. Fields/Dr. J. Luft CARRIED

2 Minutes of the Senate Governance Committee meeting of Monday, May 8, 2017.

MOTION: That the minutes of the Senate Governance Committee meeting of Monday, May 8, 2017 be approved.

Dr. C. Macdonald/Dr. E. King CARRIED

**3** Business arising from the minutes Nothing to report.

#### 4 Outstanding Business/Action Items

**4.1 Committee Membership -Academic Policy Committee** (See document SGCa170919-4.1 for more details)

MOTION 1: That the Senate Governance Committee recommend to Senate the approval of the following Senate Standing Committees memberships:

Dr. Cheryl Collier – Social Science Representative – Academic Policy Committee.

Dr. Danielle Soulliere – Faculty of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences – Social Science Representative – Senate Governance Committee

> Prof. M. Tawfik/Prof. B. Francis-Pelkey CARRIED

MOTION 2: That the Senate Governance Committee approve the name of Dr. Maria Cioppa as a faculty representative on the Nominating Committee.

Dr. C. Macdonald/Dr. P. Calarco CARRIED

# 4.2 Sessional Lecturers Standing in Bylaws

(See document SGCa170919-4.2 for more details)

## NOTED:

- Several AAUs have Sessional Lecturers either on permanence-track or with permanence but currently they have no standing in the Senate bylaws and minimal avenues for participation in the governance of their AAU.
- Sessional Lecturers are permanent (or on track to permanence) and active members of the AAU, teaching a full course load. Sessional Instructors are hired by semester to teaching one or more courses.
- Currently, it is up to the Councils to include Sessional Lecturers to their membership under bylaw 40, 4.1.5, creating inconsistency and inequity.
- Approximately 25 of these positions exist on campus.

## AGREED:

- Whether and how sessional lecturers should be included in the bylaws should be further examined by the Bylaw Review Committee. In doing so, the Bylaw Review Committee should, at minimum:
  - Ensure that changes, if any, are about providing the *opportunity* for sessional lecturers to participate in governance, rather than requiring them to do so.
  - Consider the differences between the procedures for professorial and sessional lecturer appointments and RTP/RPP procedures and how this could or should play out in any proposed changes.
  - Consider what, if any, implications there would be in providing this service opportunity on the criteria for promotion for sessional lecturers?
- The Bylaw Review Committee should canvas the Sessional Lecturers, and the Deans and Heads who have sessional lecturers in their areas for their feedback, as well as consider SGC's points and report back to the Senate Governance Committee with a recommendation on this matter.

# MOTION: That Senate Governance Committee task the Bylaw Review Committee to consider Sessional Lecturer standing in the Senate bylaws.

Dr. D. Stanley/Dr. M. Khan CARRIED

#### 5 Bylaw Business

#### NOTED

- In accordance with the 5-year review outlined in Bylaw 1, the Bylaw Review Committee, (comprised of Dr. Charles Macdonald (chair), Dr. Jennifer Willet (faculty), a Zeina Merheb (student) (when examining student-related bylaws) and Renee Wintermute (University Secretary)), is in the process of reviewing the size and composition of Senate.
- 6 Question Period/Other Business Nothing to report.
- 7 Adjournment

MOTION: That the meeting be adjourned.

Dr. M. Fields/Prof. M. Tawfik CARRIED