

# SENATE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (SGC) Minutes of Meeting

**Date:** Monday, May 8, 2017 **Time:** 2:38pm – 3:23:pm **Room:** 209 Assumption Hall

PRESENT: Mr. Pascal Calarco, Dr. Ed King, Dr. Michael Khan, Dr. Douglas Kneale, Dr. Charles Macdonald, Mr. Meet

Patel, Dr. Katherine Quinsey, Dr. Darren Stanley, Dr. Shelagh Towson, Dr. Chris Waters, Dr. Alan Wildeman.

ABSENT: Dr. Majid Ahmadi, Dr. Joanna Luft, Dr. Gurapdesh Pandher (regrets), Dr. Linda Patrick.

IN ATTENDANCE: Ms. Maria Giampuzzi, Ms. Renée Wintermute (University Secretariat)

1 Approval of the agenda

MOTION: That the agenda be approved.

Dr. K. Quinsey/Dr. E. King

**CARRIED** 

2 Minutes of the meeting of Tuesday, January 17, 2017

MOTION: That the minutes of the Senate Governance Committee meeting of Tuesday, January 17, 2017 be approved.

Dr. S. Towson/Dr. M. Khan

CARRIED

- 3 Business arising from the minutes Nothing to report.
- 1. Outstanding Business/Action Items
  - 4.1 Committee Membership
    - 4.1.1 Senate Standing Committees

(See document SGCa170508-4.1.1 for more details)

MOTION: That the Senate Governance Committee recommend to Senate for approval the Senate Standing Committees membership for 2017-2018.

Dr. E. King/Dr. K. Quinsey

CARRIED

**4.1.2** Senate Governance Committee – Subcommittees (Discipline Appeal Committee, Procedures and Discrimination Committee, Nominating Committee, Special Appointments Committee, Bylaw Review Committee) (See document SGCa170508-4.1.2 for more details)

MOTION: That the Discipline Appeal Committee, Procedures and Discrimination Committee, Nominating Committee, Special Appointments Committee, Bylaw Review Committee memberships be approved.

Dr. D. Stanley/Mr. P. Calarco

**CARRIED** 

# 4.2 Distinguished University Professor (in camera)

MOTION: To go in camera.

Dr. C. Macdonald/Dr. K. Quinsey

#### NOTED:

- The criteria and review process for Distinguished University Professor designation were outlined.
- An in-camera discussion ensued.

MOTION: That Prof. Richard Moon be appointed Distinguished University Professor.

Dr. C. Waters/Dr. K. Quinsey

**CARRIED** 

MOTION: To move out of in camera.

Dr. C. Macdonald/Dr. M. Khan

**CARRIED** 

# 5 Bylaw Business

#### 5.1 Bylaw Revisions

#### 5.1.1 Revisions to Bylaw 22

(See document SGCa170508-5.1.1)

MOTION: That the proposed revisions to Bylaw 22 be approved.

Dr. K. Quinsey/Dr. C. Macdonald

### NOTED:

Revisions were made to the bylaw to clarify language and create consistency.

FRIENDLY AMENDMENT: That the word "may" in the last line of section 5.1 be changed to shall.

**FRIENDLY AMENDMENT:** That the proposed addition to 6.3, "and the recommendation of the Dean" be deleted to eliminate redundancy with 6.4.

CARRIED, as amended

#### 5.1.2 Revisions to Bylaw 51 and Bylaw 31

(See document SGCa170508-5.1.2)

#### MOTION 1: That the proposed revisions to Bylaw 51 be approved.

Dr. K. Quinsey/Dr. C. Macdonald

### NOTED:

- Changes were made to apply the same procedures governing multiple exams in one day to any evaluation.
- Wording to address possible attendance requirements for specialized courses involving field settings was added.

**CARRIED** 

### MOTION 2: That the proposed revisions to Bylaw 31 be approved.

Dr. K. Quinsey/Dr. C. Macdonald

#### NOTED:

• Having the Faculty of Graduate Studies adjudicate graduate academic misconduct matters provides consistency across disciplines.

**CARRIED** 

# Meaning of "Mode of Operation"

#### AGREED:

• Members concurred with the Bylaw Review Committee's ruling on the meaning of the term "mode of operation". The ruling will be sent to the individual who sought the clarification.

#### 6 Question Period/Other Business

### **Honorary Degrees**

It was noted that, at a private dinner held on April 28, 2017, the University presented Michael Bell with an honorary degree. Attendees included former Chief of Defence Staff and former Canadian ambassador to the U.S., John de Chastelain, and U.S. ambassador to Yemen and Director-General of the Egypt-Israel Multinational Force, Arthur Hughes. The Senate Governance Committee was thanked for their assistance in approving Dr. Bell's name.

The President informed members of the 2017 Honorary Degree recipients for the upcoming convocation ceremonies. The University of Windsor will be awarding honorary degrees to the following individuals who have made outstanding contributions to society: Dennis Fairall, Dionne Brand, Calin Rovinescu, Jim Cuddy, John G. Kelton, Jean Augustine, Frances Lankin and Jean Teillet.

# 7 Adjournment

MOTION: That the meeting be adjourned.

Dr. K. Quinsey/Dr. C. Macdonald CARRIED