# University of Windsor Senate

# 5.7.3: Senate Representatives on the Board of Governors

#### Item for: Approval

The information below which includes a memo, a nomination form and a senate eligibility list was emailed to current Senate members. In addition to names garnered using the election process outlined below the Nominating Committee may suggest name/s (a call will be made to confirm the candidates willingness to sit) to be forwarded to Senate for inclusion on the ballot. Also stated in the memo nominations will be accepted on the floor of the May 10, 2013 Senate meeting.

History - University Act PR 35 states...

"Four members of the teaching staff elected by and from the members of the Senate"

#### TO: Senate Members

**DATE:** April 2, 2014

#### **RE: NOMINATION - SENATE REPRESENTATIVES ON THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS**

The University of Windsor Act provides for "four members of the *teaching staff* elected by and from the members of the Senate", to sit as members on the Board of Governors of the University of Windsor. Senate members elected to the Board of Governors should be from diverse areas.

The current representatives are;

Dr. Beth Daly: Sept 1, 2012-Aug 31, 2015 (Confirmed Senate Membership for 2014-2015) Dr. Marlys Koschinsky: Sept 1, 2012 - Aug 31, 2015 (Confirmed Senate Membership for 2014-2015) Dr. Antonio Rossini: Sept 1, 2013 - Aug 31, 2016 (Confirmed Senate Membership for 2014-2015) Dr. Maureen Gowing: Jan 1, 2014 - Aug 31, 2014 (Term ends Aug 2014 – VACANCY Sept 1, 2014 – August 31, 2017)

Therefore, there will be an election to fill the **one** above-mentioned vacancy. As previously stated these terms are subject to membership on Senate and unexpired terms will be filled for the remainder of their terms. As per Senate bylaws you cannot serve more than six consecutive years on Senate or the Board. Please find terms, vacancies and the election process outlined below.

Please note: If you are elected to sit as a Senate representative on the Board of Governors you must leave the bargaining unit for your specified term.

Attached is a list of Senate members eligible for nomination and a nomination form.



Eligibility List.doc

Nomination Form.doc

#### **Election Process**

Nominations (signed by the nominator and the nominee) are due in the Office of the University Secretariat, Room 201 Health Education Centre, by 3pm, Wednesday, April 16, 2014. Nominations will also be open to the floor at the May 9, 2014 Senate meeting. Please keep in mind that if you are nominating someone on the floor of Senate who will <u>not</u> be present at the Friday, May 9, 2014 meeting, but they are on Senate next year (name appearing on the attached list) you must ensure that you have a signed copy of the nomination form at the meeting, with both the nominee and nominators signatures. The nominations garnered prior to the meeting and the nominations received on the floor of Senate will be placed on a ballot. Once nominations have ceased, voting will take place by secret ballot at the May 9, 2014 Senate meeting.

Thanking you in advance, Maria

# **NOMINATION FORM**

To: Maria Giampuzzi Elections Manager Room 201, Health Education Centre

# Re: Nomination - Senate Representative on the Board of Governors

I nominate \_\_\_\_\_

(Please print name)

\_\_\_\_\_ to serve as Senate representative

on the Board of Governors.

SIGNATURE - NOMINATOR

(Please print your name under your signature.)

I accept the nomination. SIGNATURE - NOMINEE

Nominations are due no later than 3:00pm, Wednesday, April 16, 2014 In Room 201 Health Education Centre, Attention: Maria Giampuzzi

# Eligibility List - Senate Representatives on the Board of Governors 2014-2015

#### **Ex Officio Members**

Dr. N. Wright Dr. A. Conway Dr. K. Roland Dr. M. Saif Dr. M. Khan Prof. C. Cameron Dr. L. Patrick Dr. K. W. M. Siu Dr. P. Dutton

#### Elected representatives of Faculties

# Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Dr. G. Cradock Dr. A. Forrest Dr. K. Quinsey Dr. V. Scatamburlo-D'Annibale Dr. J. Luft Dr. L. Rodney Dr. A. Scoboria] Dr. J. Singleton-Jackson Dr. L. Walsh Dr. C. Davison

## **Odette School of Business**

Dr. F. Baki Dr. M. Gowing Dr. J. Power

# **Faculty of Engineering**

Dr. K. Tepe Dr. M. Ahmadi Dr. A. Asfour

#### **Faculty of Human Kinetics**

Dr. K. Milne Dr. J. Dixon

# Faculty of Law

Prof. D. Eansor

# **Faculty of Nursing**

Dr. L. Freeman-Gibb Dr. D. Kane

# **Faculty of Science**

Dr. P. Graniero Dr. C. Trudeau Dr. R. Caron Dr. M. Boffa Dr. E. Maeva Dr. J. Smit Dr. Z. Kobti

#### Elected representatives-at-large)

Mr. N. Baker Dr. R. Balachandar Dr. Tirupati Bolisetti Dr. C. MacDonald Dr. M. Muldoon Dr. R. Nelson Dr. Patrick Selmi Dr. Shelagh Towson Dr. Xiaobu Yuan